Friday tech tip: how to stay anonymous on LinkedIn

By: John McGarvey

Date: 27 September 2013

Professional networking site LinkedIn has become an important tool for people looking to stay in touch with old colleagues and make new contacts.

But some time ago the site introduced a new feature that can feel intrusive. When you sign in, you can see who has viewed your profile.

To see who's been looking at your profile, sign in to LinkedIn. Then select Profile > Who's Viewed Your Profile:

LinkedIn privacy settings{{}}

If you'd rather other people weren't able to see your details in this list, it's easy to turn off the feature.

There are lots of reasons you might want to do this. For instance, perhaps you're researching applicants for a vacancy at your company, but don't want to reveal your details yet.

  1. Sign in to LinkedIn
  2. Go to your Account and Settings by selecting your profile picture at the top right of the screen
  3. Select Privacy & Settings
  4. Choose Select what others see when you've viewed their profile
  5. A pop-up will appear giving you three options. Select either anonymous profile characteristics or totally anonymous, depending on your preference
  6. Choose Save changes

That's it — you can now view other people's profiles without alerting them to the fact.

Just remember that the information you can see about other people will mirror your own setting. If opted for anonymity, you won't be able to see who's viewed your profile either.

What does the * mean?

If a link has a * this means it is an affiliate link. To find out more, see our FAQs.